Holy Sacrament Episcopal Church, Pembroke Pines, Florida, is sending two mission teams to Jamaica and the Dominican Republic from Saturday, June 11 to Saturday, June 18. The Church has sent missionaries to these two countries for over 15 years. We also have sent mission teams in the past to Haiti. “Friends Reaching Friends,” the Church’s Mission and Outreach Ministry Group sponsors and organizes these missions.

The missionaries are excited and getting ready to leave in a week’s time. Members of the church, as well as their family and friends supported the missionaries financially in order for them to make the trip. A number of fundraising events were held to finance the missions. The work, which is being conducted in these two countries, has a number of components including the organizing of Vacation Bible School for children, medical care of people (in the Dominican Republic) and the painting of homes.

Today, Sunday, June 5, the teams are being introduced to the congregation at both services and a new missionary of each team will share with the Parish Family why they feel called to engage in a mission overseas. The Holy Eucharist (Communion) is being celebrated on Wednesday, June 8, as an opportunity for the missionaries to worship together before embarking on the mission trips. The teams will pack for the trips on Wednesday night after the Eucharist and on Thursday evening.

Please remember each missionary in your prayers and pray for safe travel to and from Jamaica and the Dominican Republic and for a successful, productive and spirit-filled mission.

Jamaica Team: Sonia Blake, Alex Azan, Connor Coole, Veronica Francis, Dr. Cheryl Holder, Annabelle Juin, Annelyse Juin, Brittany Maxwell, Fiona Morrell, Matthew Odette, Linda Ondo, Michael Ondo, The Rev. Maud Paraison, Joy Pendergast, Troy Pendergast, Christie Ramsaran, Zachary Schieren, Jessica Sheriff, Dr. Sandra Sheriff, Demi Smith, Dezray Smith, Stephanie Villiotis, Vashti Walker, Amari Walters, Dr. John Williams and Rose Williams.

Dominican Republic Team: Bibi Achaibar, Carol Bhim, Audrey Burgher, Matthew Campbell, Karen Eddy, Father Tony Holder, Jordan King, Dr. Pat Rowe King, Brian McClain, Ron McDonald, Shannon McDonald, Beverley Monteith, Maryella Reed, Melissa Schleifer, Linda Schlepp-Gray, and Tom Ungleich.